Rocket Ship, Solo Trip

Illustrated by Scott Magoon

A young rocket braves the unknown on her first journey into space, in a celebration of the big firsts of life's littlest explorers. With brilliant art by NYT-bestselling illustrator, Scott Magoon, this rhyming picture book is perfect for fans of Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site.

“First time jitters? That’s okay.
Find one small step to lead the way.”

Rocket is embarking on her first solo mission. Her goal? Place a satellite into orbit to take pictures of the beautiful unknown. With a few words of encouragement from Ground Control, Rocket sparks ignition and blasts off to discover all the beauty of outer space. But when it’s time for reentry, she wonders if she can do it alone. With Ground Control’s parting words in mind, Rocket trusts that she knows exactly what to do. She returns home at hypersonic speed and excited for her future expeditions…maybe next time, to the moon. Rocket Ship, Solo Trip explores all the complicated emotions of big firsts and reminds readers that no matter how far they go, the ones they love are always close by.

A Note from Chiara

This story was inspired in part by my own youthful dreams of space journeying, in part by my young son’s love for rocket ships, and in part by our favorite rhyming picture books which we reach for time and again on the shelves. When I couldn’t find a picture book for my son featuring a rocket ship as the main character, I decided to write one for him. Little did I know that Rocket's story would help me fulfill my lifelong dreams of becoming an author, landing me my first book deal after over a decade of writing stories. And in doing so, it has launched me into so many exciting big firsts of my own, with my son cheering me on at my side!

All the buzz

“Little ones trying new things will be encouraged...Blends social-emotional learning and STEM with engaging illustrations for a memorable trip into space.” — Kirkus Reviews

Available wherever books are sold

And don't forget your local library! I'd share a link to every library if I could. :)

Amazon - Book Webflow Template
Bookshop.org logo
Barnes and Noble bookstore logo
A card with the words "Your local bookstore!"